Top 14 countries with multiple capitals, the guys couldn’t stop at one capital…

In principle, a country has only one capital, it is the city where the power sits. But who knows why some countries wanted to play it original and said to themselves that a single capital was a little cheap, so you might as well have two capitals, or three, or twenty-seven in which the different powers will be distributed. So if you want to show off at the game of capitals, we invite you to learn these few doubloons, even triplets.

1. South Africa: Pretoria, Cape Town and Bloemfontein

If you are asked what is the capital of South Africa, you would certainly answer Pretoria. Or Cape Town. Well you’d be good either way. Yes, because the country has no less than three capitals: Pretoria in the administrative capital, The cap in the legislative capital, and even Bloemfontein in judicial capital. And yet at present these three capitals no longer really have a reason to exist since only Cape Town is the seat of parliament, while the judicial body is in Johannesburg. Basically, Bloemfontein is useless, and no one knows how to pronounce it.

2. Benin: Porto-Novo, Cotonou and Abomey

In truth, the capital Abomey is more symbolic than anything else since it is the former capital of the pre-colonial kingdom of Danhomè, which makes it a historic capital today. The “real” capitals are above all Porto-Novo (official capital) and Cotonou (economic capital and seat of government).

3. Bolivia: Sucre and La Paz

If we are not too good at geography, we tend to say that La Paz is the capital of Bolivia. And yet it’s half wrong (and therefore half right too). Sucre is actually the official capital according to the Constitution, it is in this city that reigns the judicial power while the seat of the executive and legislative powers are in La Paz, which is therefore considered in fact as the administrative capital of the country.

4. Chile: Santiago and Valparaíso

Alright, we’re looking for you. In truth, the real capital of the country is indeed Santiago. It is the seat of the executive and legislative power so there is no squirming. But as Valparaíso is getting a little carried away with its seat of legislative power, which it has had since 1990, this gives it the status of a second-class capital.

5. Ivory Coast: Yamoussoukro and Abidjan

While we generally know that the city of Abidjan which is indeed the economic capital, it is nevertheless Yamoussoukro which is the political capital of the country. It gives you a corner, doesn’t it?

6. Georgia: Tbilisi and Kutaisi

The good news is that a priori, unless you are a head in geo, I doubt that you know these two names of cities. Well GOOD NEWS! You now know that Tbilisi houses the seat of executive and judicial power while Kutaisi keeps the seat of Parliament under its wing. Again, the first seems more recognized as the official capital but Kutaisi has been the official capital many times, especially when Tbilisi was occupied by foreign forces.

7. Israel: Jerusalem and Tel-Aviv-Jaffa

So of course it’s a bit tricky because technically Jerusalem is not recognized everywhere as the official capital of the country. Let’s say that no one recognizes it as such except for Israel and the United States (remember how Trump created controversy by announcing that he recognized Jerusalem as the capital of the country and that he would move the American embassy there, which which actually happened in May 2018). As a result, the official capital for the rest of the international community is above all Tel-Aviv-Jaffa, where all the embassies are located.

8. Malaysia: Kuala Lumpur and Putrajaya

We especially know Kuala Lumpur and it is normal that it remains the official capital with the seat of the legislative power. But Putrajaya is the administrative center where the seat of the judiciary is located. The advantage is that it is 20 kilometers from Kuala to the south so if you ever really want to fill up on capitals (yeah, well, not me, there are people who have weird passions) you can do both suddenly.

9. Montenegro: Podgorica and Cetinje

Well, we can see that there is a little confusion. Basically Podgorica is the capital of the country, BUT Cetinje being the former royal capital of the country, it continues to be recognized as the “capital of the throne”. This is also where the president lives, so it is the historic and presidential capital, while the first is mainly administrative.

10. Palestine: Jerusalem and Ramallah

Yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaads and eaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaEa allAa ever aD at, at, at, at, at, at, wee not on a eaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaL subject, are ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooOoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo hard. On one side we have a self-proclaimed capital of the country, East Jerusalem. However, at present, the Palestinian government is resident in Ramallah making it the country’s capital for the international community.

11. The Netherlands: Amsterdam and The Hague

Although Amsterdam is the well-known capital of firecracker smokers, it is in The Hague that all the governmental institutions are concentrated, ie the executive, legislative and judicial powers. I don’t know if that’s why the city doesn’t exude joy, but in any case I don’t recommend that you spend your honeymoon there.

12. Sri Lanka: Sri Jayawardenapura and Colombo

The two cities are side by side and part of the Western Province. The first is in the suburbs of the second which was the old capital but where we still find part of the governmental institutions.

13. Tanzania: Dodoma and Dar es Salaam

The official capital is Dodoma, it is located in the center of the country and Dar es Salaam, located on the coast is the economic pole (and the former capital of the country by the way).

14. Swaziland: Mbabane and Lobamba

We had already told you about Mswati III, the absolute monarch who is completely farted at the head of the country (who, for the reed festival, pays himself the priceless pleasure of seeing tens of thousands of naked virgins dance in front of him). In short, there’s a lot of crazy stuff in this country, so after all, whether it has one, two or eighteen capitals, it’s kind of the least of our worries. In this case Mbabane is the administrative capital and Lobamba, the legislative and royal capital.

And you, how many capitals do you have?

If you want to test your knowledge, you can play on our test “Are you a beast in geography? “. the results of this test will serve as a baccalaureate diploma for this particular year.

Related Posts

error: Content is protected !!